Four SELTA members shortlisted for the Bernard Shaw Translation Prize

Deborah Bragan-Turner, Sarah Death (twice), Nichola Smalley and Neil Smith are all on the shortlist.

The triennial prize, instituted in 1991 by the Anglo-Swedish Literary Foundation, is administered by the Society of Authors and awarded to translations into English of full-length Swedish language works of literary merit and general interest. The full shortlist is as follows:

Neil Smith for a translation of Anxious People by Fredrik Backman (Penguin, Michael Joseph)

Sarah Death for a translation of Chitambo by Hagar Olsson (Norvik Press)

Amanda Doxtater for a translation of Crisis by Karin Boye (Norvik Press)

Sarah Death for a translation of Letters from Tove by Tove Jansson and ed. by Boel Westin and Helen Svensson (Sort of Books)

Deborah Bragan-Turner for a translation of To Cook A Bear by Mikael Niemi (MacLehose Press)

Nichola Smalley for a translation of Wretchedness by Andrzej Tichý (And Other Stories)

Congratulations to them all. We are also delighted that from now on the prize will be awarded every two years thanks to an increase in funding.